Web Host Chat - The UK hosting forum
Home QLinks Members Your Profile Register FAQ's Hosts Only Area SMS Alerts Game Servers
Go Back   Web Host Chat > Web Hosting Chat > Business and Technical Advice
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 31st December 2008   #1 (permalink)
Found the Computer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
abluegrape is on a distinguished road
Anyone heard of The Attributor Corporation.

Looks like this company has been scanning websites (in an aggresive manner) to see if there is any copyright material etc on the site.

A few more details can be found here

Never heard of them myself but its seems interesting that the RIAA etc start to step down from the fight on piracy etc and this company starts to come to the front!!

Apologies if this isn't in the right section - didn't really know where to stick it, but thought people running hosting businesses might want to be aware

Not sure whether this is a good thing or not - they appear to be hitting sites hard and fast and under a disguise of a normal browser.

Maybe its the new year whisky making me thing too much!!

Happy new year
abluegrape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2008   #2 (permalink)
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cumbernauld, Scotland, UK
Posts: 161
M8INTERNET is on a distinguished road
He could be a bounty hunter
If he finds copyright content, that is on his list, then he can report the website and claim the booty
__________________
m8internet.com
M8INTERNET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2008   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Posts: 42
pipeten is on a distinguished road
I haven't see this bot in particular, but it's not really uncommon. GettyImages and others who are in the business of protecting and profiting from their IP have been doing this since ... people started to rip them off so much.

As you say in the post, if it's problematic enough, block it.
pipeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009   #4 (permalink)
Found the Computer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
abluegrape is on a distinguished road
Does Getty etc use a normal useragent when they are checking a site or do they actually identify themselves as a bot?

Never seen Getty bot on my sites so wondered if they are stealth scanning pretending to be a user or are they saying its their bot.

I can see why the scanning may be as a normal browser as there are a few SEO people who cloak their blogs and so on but thats still no excuse to hammer the site.
abluegrape is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody heard of Chanceview? Dotty General Chit Chat & Discussion 6 16th June 2007 04:25 PM
I bet you've heard this question a few times... meglamaniac Shared and Reseller Web Hosting 8 24th November 2005 03:18 PM
Anyone heard of provider-one.net? franki-uk Discuss a hosting company 3 22nd March 2005 08:03 PM
anyone heard of purple-paw.com UKSpace4U Discuss a hosting company 9 9th January 2004 02:46 PM

User Information
»REGISTER NOW!
Business and Technical Advice Discussion of issues affecting businesses and any technical queries with all aspects of running a hosting company


Quick forum search
 

Special Hosting Offers

Hot Stuff


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0