+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 27
1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 400

Thread: eUKhost.com

  1. #1
    Prior to last year, I thought web hosting was too expensive and that making web sites were just for rich people. Figures like £10/month looked very expensive for me, especially as I was only 15 years old. Then I saw an advertising banner for eukhost.com. Just £20/year for all this! (now £22.99):

    100mb Web Space
    500mb Bandwidth
    Unlimited POP3 e-mail accounts
    Unlimited E-mail Forwarding
    Unlimited Auto Responders
    Unlmited Subdomains
    PHP4 Scripting
    Up to 5 MySQL databases
    Full Cgi-bin
    Cpanel 6 web-based site management
    and much more...

    I have been with eUKhost for 1 year now, and I must say their service is fantastic! I have real-time support via MSN and support via e-mail. There is also a perl ticket-based support centre. All questions were answered promptly. Their servers are really fast, only experienced downtime once! Everything is updated regularly such as PHP, MySQL, PHPMYADMIN. I'm not even paid to say all this! I'd really recommend them to anyone

  2. #2
    Certified VIP Host
    I have made 7043 posts
    304 posts within 6 months
    Contact Me, Company profile
    Karl is on a distinguished road
    I hate to be an old cynic, but any post like this does smell of advertising, especially when you don't say what domain you'e hosting with them, or even have it in your profile.
    Karl Austin :: Owner :: KDA Web Services Ltd. :: UK Web Hosting and Servers
    0800 542 9764 :: Company: 04114724 :: VAT: GB 842 9597 81
    "Individual Solutions for Individual Customers" - Call us today for free

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. - Einstein

  3. #3
    I Don't blame you for being cynical.

    My website is http://www.infernodesigns.co.uk

    I didn't mention it in my post nor profile because it has been somewhat dormant for a while as I'm looking to create another website.

  4. #4
    i am looking at eukhost and i need honest opinions....

    i think it is too good to be true.. but i am still hopeful

  5. #5
    Certified VIP Host
    I have made 3937 posts
    313 posts within 6 months
    Contact Me, Company profile
    markcastle is on a distinguished road
    Personally i'm a great believer in "if it looks too good to be true it normally is". I''ve got no idea about the host in question, however as i've not heard anything about them.
    ••• Mark Castle ••• Secura Hosting Ltd •••
    ••• Managed Hosting •••
    ••• AS29452UK Company Reg No: 04330657VAT Number: 789 2703 81Sales: 0845 123 2632 •••
    My views are my own and not those of my company.
    Last edited by markcastle; 25th July 2003 at 09:50 AM.

  6. #6
    yeah i figured as much...

    thank you anyway.................

  7. #7
    I think there's a thread on these people in www.webhostingtalk.com as well...
    Ex-webhost

  8. #8
    yeah i know i am posting there too....

    and i am email people who use them to find out what their opinions are....

    well i know its cheeky but i want info before i commit

  9. #9
    Cheeky but worthwhile

    Have you emailed their sales team? Did they respond quickly and helpfully? Are they a registered company? ect...
    Ex-webhost

  10. #10
    no i havent emailed thier sales team yet....

    will do when i think i have a reasonable amount of decnet replies.......

    dont want to waste their time...

    but i must say i havent heard anything bad about them......yet...

    what do you mean by registered company etc... what do you think i need to look for

  11. #11
    no i havent emailed thier sales team yet....

    will do when i think i have a reasonable amount of decnet replies.......

    dont want to waste their time...
    I wouldn't worry about that
    what do you mean by registered company etc... what do you think i need to look for
    As far as I know there's no legal requirement to be registered with companies house (there a few advantages) but you can check here:

    http://www.companieshouse.gov.uk/info/

    We're registered as Xanthus Design Limited and not XISP so you can't always assume that the trading name is the company name. If they're registered it will probably say so on their web site.
    Ex-webhost

  12. #12
    hmmm thank you for that...
    i cant find them listed in that database, nor can i find anything on their site about this...


    is that a good sign.....?

  13. #13
    If you're a Ltd company, a Plc or an LLP (possibly also partnership as well) you will be listed at Companies House, since CH handle registrations of all these business types.

    Now, if you're "self employed" (which is a status in its own right) or a "sole trader" then I don't believe you'll be listed.

    So, it's quite possible that eUKhost might not be in the CH database if they fall into one of these categories, or simply that "eUKhost" could just be a trading name for their actual registered business name.

    I believe that if you're Ltd/Plc/LLP then you're required under CH rules to publish your company number and registered office on any documentation you provide to customers.. now you could extend that to web site as well, but as far as I know they don't specifically include "web site" in that rule currently.

    Someone here recently was saying that by law you now have to publish contact details if you're trading on-line, I'm not sure what act that falls under?

    Legal requirements aside, I should think that publishing some basic info about the official details of your business status would be a good thing to do to promote yourself as being a genuine and honest business, regardless of whether it's legally required. Of course, this doesn't mean a company that doesn't is necessarily bad (aside from breaking any legal requirements).
    Paul Civati
    Rack Sense Ltd
    Views expressed are my own and not those of the company.
    Company reg no. 05115163, VAT reg no. GB 912 5238 45

  14. #14
    well they do list a p.o box address on their site....not the same though.. they say they have offices in durham... (anyone live there)

    i have been asking random users of eukhost what they are like and i havent heard anything bad,..... not brilliant but not bad..

    but i dont like not having an official address or phone number...
    though one person did they that they have contacted them by phone when they had a problem....


    i am really stuck with what i should do...

  15. #15
    ah ha i have just found thier information on another site with phone number....

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 27
1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Taking action against eukhost.com
    By episcience in forum Discuss a hosting company
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5th October 2004, 03:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.0 RC2