Welcome to the UK's web hosting forum.
Please enjoy the forum, contribute what you can, and wind up the Moderators!
Contact Us / Help
Join the Private forums?
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34

Thread: 50pservers.co.uk / 50pservers.com / XGServers.co.uk copyright theft

  1. #1
    Posts 3436
    Rank 13 (-11)
    Array

    50pservers.co.uk / 50pservers.com / XGServers.co.uk copyright theft

    Hi All,

    Im in two minds what to do here, ignore it or take action, what do you think?

    50pservers.com apears to be owned and operated by XGServers.co.uk , now ignoring the fact there is no address on 50pservers, or the fact they bid on our trade terms (ukgame) etc.

    They apear to have decided its a good idea to copy the icons i created myself for ukgame.com and just change the colour a little bit.

    Our Icons (we have more icons than this and every icon they have matches on of ours)


    Now their icons (taken from their site 10:30am 26/05/2009)


    How do you deal with idiots like this who clearly can't be bothered to make anything themselves? Anyone know who hosts them for sure, maybe i should contact the host.

    I have some others having copied our terms word for word also :P it's madness.
    Last edited by administrator; 26th May 2009 at 10:40 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  2. #2
    Posts 2662
    Rank 9 (-5)
    Array
    I'd just send a quick C+D letter regarding the icons. If they don't change quick sharp then contact upstream. Regarding biding on trade terms I think your talking about adwords/sense can't you just contact google, that one is far more messy!
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  3. #3
    Posts 3436
    Rank 13 (-11)
    Array
    I don't acctually care about the bidding, if people bid on me i just bid on them back.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  4. #4
    Posts 2662
    Rank 9 (-5)
    Array
    Well if it's just the stolen icons then a note will normally stop it, if not then thier upstream probably will when they get a letter!
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  5. #5
    Posts 3436
    Rank 13 (-11)
    Array
    So send a letter to 50pservers.com / 50pservers.co.uk or xgservers.co.uk , sounds like a good plan to get in contact with XGServers

    It's almost like im talking in code.

    Ill drop them an email shortly and let you all know what response i get from 50pservers
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  6. #6
    BANNED
    Posts 171
    Rank 7549 (+12)
    Array
    Quote Originally Posted by administrator View Post
    I don't acctually care about the bidding, if people bid on me i just bid on them back.
    Maybe explain that they may use them but the price is XXX per month/year.
    Its only a suggestion
    Regards Terry
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  7. #7
    Posts 2730
    Rank 113 (+102)
    Array
    Doubt you got a chance legally speaking. The icons you have are just taken from the games themselves. So all you've got is the fact you've put em in a rounded box? Not much there
    Mooharr
    E-Mail Hosting Services

    These are not my views and i cannot be held accountable for anything he says.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  8. #8
    M&A
    Posts 1203
    Rank 188 (-6)
    Array
    Sorry but who cares about the icons ?

    Bidding on your trade name maybe.

    Sure you could send them an email, but only threaten court action if you have a) will follow it through and b) have at least a chance of winning.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  9. #9
    Posts 2662
    Rank 9 (-5)
    Array
    Quote Originally Posted by FH - Tim View Post
    Sorry but who cares about the icons ?
    Err, I would. I assume that Neil spend time creating the icons, some little upstart steals them to save themself a days works. How would you feel if someone stole chunks of your website that had taken you time to create.

    I once worked on a project that had a large number of product images, we employed a temp to scan/source a number of them. We knew that this would give us the edge on other sites... till one of them they just tried to lift the entire library. Good job we had them watermarked.

    If they guys had liked the idea and created something similar I don't think he would be having issues as that would be a form of flattery. Stealing stuff is just plain wrong.

    *wanders back to the pirate bay*
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  10. #10
    Registered
    Posts 38
    Rank 7156 (+10)
    Array
    Neil,

    If I am honest, if you look at most game server provider's every icon is nearly identical, because everyone uses similar images, because they are what is needed.

    If I was you, I just wouldn't bother putting the time and effort it. As if were honest, they are more likely what I and most gamers like to call "Bedroom Companies" or "Kiddie Companies". They will more likely go bust within a couple of months. I watch most hosts quite regularly, and ive only just noticed them, so I doubt they will be around for long.

    Unless its causing you so much bother, I just would leave it unless they start getting anywhere.

    Matt
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  11. #11
    Registered
    Posts 2
    Rank 7707 (+12)
    Array
    In reply to your post, I now need information about the above mentioned copyright's and the dates in which these
    copyright's were registered.

    Regarding your trade name, please can you also supply us with relevant information in relationship to your
    trading name (UKGame) again dates and proof of registration.

    Secondly: Your above comment is slanderous and as a direct result, I feel like I should be taking action against
    you (BB Dev Limited).

    Thirdly 50pServers is a seperate entity of XGServers and has its own dedicated team. However I have been in contact
    with 50pServers over the above mentioned matter and have been informed that the above images were created by a
    third party in exchange for free services, as 50pServers likes to support the gaming community.

    Finally if you had followed normal company procedures, which I would consider to be general practice and you had
    contacted us directly, we would have acted immediately upon it.

    As we did when we were informed of the above posts.

    Regarding bidding on trade names, please view the following infomation below:







    also teamhost link:teamhost - Google Search
    and gtxgaming link:gtxgaming - Google Search
    these are to name a few.
    Need we say any more!!!

    I look forward to receiving the relevant information.

    Out of common courtesy, I will phone you regarding these matters and hopefully we can resolve this issue before
    we start taking the relevant legal action against you.

    Regards

    Andy
    Director XGServers LLP

    Registered Number :- OC340010
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  12. #12
    Registered
    Posts 45
    Rank 7706 (+12)
    Array
    You should have digitally signed the images when you were creating them with your name and company, if these people can't be arsed making their own images it's highly unlikely that they'll check for digital signitatures.

    While it might not be a worthwhile case of taking them through the courts it should put enough wind up them to think about doing the same thing again

    (Photoshop has the ability to do this with every file you work on)
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  13. #13
    Just struck me..

    is this inflation from 49p ?
    Serverstream.com
    High Availability Cloud Hosting | Premium Managed Servers | 10 Reasons Why
    Company reg: 04186664 VAT reg: GB 815 5899 88
    [Any views expressed on this forum are my own, and may not represent the views of any organisation that I own or am connected with.]
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  14. #14
    Registered
    Posts 12
    Rank 4725 (+12)
    Array
    I say go all the way with this one Neil. Take them to court if you have to.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

  15. #15
    Registered
    Posts 45
    Rank 7706 (+12)
    Array
    A great tool for finding plagiarists and duplicate online content out Copyscape - Search for Website Plagiarism and Duplicate Content Online
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Share with Facebook

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question about hosting and copyright
    By Ben-Define in forum Business and Technical Advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th April 2010, 03:01 PM
  2. Feds urge tougher ID theft laws
    By [NEWS] in forum Hosting and Tech News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th April 2007, 01:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62